Pandiramerino (rosemary, sultana and olive oil bread)

2006 13 May

Only I can't cope with soggy sultanas etc. so I turned it into rosemary, lemon and olive oil bread. From a new cookbook called Flavours of Tuscany, extracted in delicious. You need: Dried yeast, caster sugar, plain flour – warmed, rosemary, evoo, sultanas or raisins or dried muscatels (used lemon zest and a spoonful of honey instead). Lemon and rosemary were good together and the sweetness level was just right – slightly less sweet than the average hot-cross bun. Interesting idea to warm the flour. I wonder if this would be a good idea when making regular bread too. Will try it. The rosemary, fruit and olive oil are added after the main rising stage, which sounds messy and sort of is, but bearable. I slightly overdid the oil by not reading carefully enough and including the amount that was to be brushed on top before baking. A little extra flour kneaded in did the trick. The rolls cooked very quickly, but mine were a little smaller than prescribed. Verdict: quite delish. I had two in a row. Very slightly crumbly but in a good way – i.e. large soft crumbs, not dry ones. As suggested, these would be an excellent alternative to the dreaded (by me) hot-cross bun. I imagine other flavour substitutions would work too. No idea how they keep – they didn't make it to nightfall.

Leave a comment